Bookworms Anonymous…

I recently quit taking college courses.  I took several psychology courses, a handfull of sociology courses, and a splash of english courses; along with a sprinkling of courses actually geared towards my area of study, Fashion Design.  In all of the madness of assignments, essays, and project due dates, I had forgotten how much I truly enjoy reading for leisure!  (I.e. anything that is NOT assigned reading…).  In the year that I went to school, I realized that I had not finished, started, or even PURCHASED a book.  Amid the chaos of whirlwind soccer trips and the kids’ school year coming to a close, I realized something very important..  I didn’t read in front of the kids.  They had never truly seen me reading.  At least, not reading anything NOT about clinical psychology and NOT geared towards 0-10 year olds.  One of the biggest struggles we have had with all three of our crazy-rambunctious and intensely hyperactive children is that none of them have a desire to read.  They simply do not understand the importance of being able to read and write, much less how fortunate they are to live in a country where the government does not prevent them from learning these wonderful and vital skills.  Reading is a pastime that absorbed my childhood and most of my young adulthood.  I remember climbing my favorite tree with my current book wedged under my arm, then lounging in the branches reading until the sun began to set on those warm summer days.  Now, as an adult with a job and children and ample responsibility, I realize what a privilege it is to sit down and read a book.  As I have more free time on these summer evenings, I have been making it a point to read more, especially in front of the kids.  Hopefully they will wonder what is so engrossing about a book, and then figure it out for themselves.  While I was about it, I decided that it would be wonderful to tackle two problems at once!  Therefore, you can all look forward to a few book reviews in future!  Now I have something to write about.

 

As always, thank you for reading.  I hope you are all having a wonderful summer so far, and I look forward to any questions or comments you may send my way!  Be sure to check in all summer long for book reviews, silly stories, and wild adventures.  (or at least check back to hear about how many pokemon we have caught around the neighborhood…) .  😉

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bookworms Anonymous…

  1. I still haven’t read Gone Girl or Me Before You. I’m terribly behind, though ironically I’ve read way more this summer than last summer. The to-read pile never ends! Definitely would like to see what you thought of both of them 🙂

    Like

    1. Me before you is on my list! Gone girl is fantastic!! It is a modernized thriller and so worth the read. Much like the movie, you almost have to read it twice to get it! It is so complex but so good. Dark places by Gillian Flynn was not as good. In fact, the end was almost obvious by the first couple of chapters. Gone girl is definitely a step up. Argo and me before you look good and I can’t wait to dive in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

